PDA

View Full Version : Airport Access to Trail?

Scouter Dave
03-18-2005, 12:25
Do you know of any airports (not large comercial ones) close to AT access? I am a pilot form Ohio and I section hike the trail once a year with my Scout Troop. I would like to hike the AT a few 3~4 day weekends as well but the 10+ hour drive makes that impossible.
In passing Mt Rogers NRA two years ago, I realized that Moutain Empire Airport (Marion/Wytheville, VA) is only about a mile from where the trail crosses under I-81 and I can fly there in 2 hours.
Are there any other airports along the trail that I could just get out of my plane, throw on my pack, and hike the AT?!?

Jaybird
03-18-2005, 12:35
Not many airstrips along side the A.T.! hehehehehehe

seriously, tho'....Atlanta is not that far from Springer...
after flying in...& a shuttle ride of 1 1/2 hrs or so....your'e hiking!

Lone Wolf
03-18-2005, 12:38
There's a small airport about 15 miles from Damascus along I-81 similar to Marion/Wythville.

03-18-2005, 12:52
Dahlonega, Ga has an airport that is on the way to the trail. It would be about a 15 min shuttle to Cooper Gap (12 miles from Springer) and about 35 min shuttle to Springer Mt. It is a nice but rural air strip (paved). Good news is that rescue air for North Ga is based there.

Rain Man
03-18-2005, 13:00
Perhaps the ATC would know? Or, would know who would know?

http://www.appalachiantrail.org/

Just a guess, for what it's worth.

Rain:sunMan

Dances with Mice
03-18-2005, 13:52
http://www.highvalleyresort.com/airport.htm

NICKTHEGREEK
03-18-2005, 14:29
KFRR, Front Royal VA right the North end of SNP.

http://www.airnav.com/airport/KFRR

Tim Rich
03-18-2005, 14:40
You could put down on Max Patch. I believe small planes used to land there.

Check www.airnav.com/airports/us to browse airports by State.

N94 Carlisle Airport looks to be less than five miles from Boiling Springs, PA.

Roland
03-18-2005, 14:49