PDA

View Full Version : granola

dalemc
02-09-2012, 13:43
Anyone out there MOY own granola? Recipes??

garlic08
02-09-2012, 15:30
Mine is so simple, it's hardly worth posting. I make it as I hike. Technically I guess it's muesli, since it's uncooked. I buy a large box of old fashioned rolled oats, a half pound bag of walnuts from the baking aisle, and a pound of raisins. Mix in a gallon ziplock, dip cup in ziplock, add water, eat, repeat. I've been doing this on trail and at home for about 30 years and it's the best breakfast I've ever found. If I have milk or yogurt available, I'll add that. If I have cinnamon, I'll add that too.

RodentWhisperer
02-09-2012, 20:50
You're correct, garlic08-- that's meusli. It's what I have for breakfast practically every day of an average work week. ;)

Granola is really easy to make. Here's my standard recipe:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Mix together about 1/3 cup of honey, 1/3 cup oil (I use EVOO, but most people like canola), and 1 teaspoon vanilla. Add in about 4 cups of rolled oats. Stir until all the oats are coated. Spread the mixture evenly over 1-2 baking sheets (I like using a lasagne pan). Bake at 350 for about 20-30 minutes, or until golden; stir the mixture about every 7-10 minutes to make sure the oats of all being cooked evenly.

Above and beyond that, there's all kinds of stuff you can do! Try adding in about 1/2 - 1 teaspoon cinnamon or allspice, 1/4 - 1/2 teaspoon of ground clove, or a few drops of almond extract. When the granola has cooled to room temp, mix in some of your favorite nuts and/or dried fruits.

My favorite? I go a little Caribbean and add allspice, cinnamon, and a touch of ground red pepper, and at the end, I mix in some cashews, dried mango and coconut. When I find fresh mint on the trail, it adds another punch!:)

JAK
02-10-2012, 07:38