PDA

View Full Version : Sleeping in a Mummy Bag Question

theoilman
02-12-2012, 20:43
I am new to a mummy bag. I sleep on my side or stomach, almost never on my back.

When temperatures are close to bag rating, and fully zipped / hood secured, do you roll over with the bag and all? Or do you try to keep the bag right side up and roll inside it?

Senor Jalapeno
02-12-2012, 20:49
I leave it right side up and roll myself around. I also use a silk liner, makes it easier

Hikes in Rain
02-12-2012, 20:51
I'm a side sleeper, too, but tend more to the back than the stomach. After the first night, I don't ever seem to have a problem rolling over. I THINK I take the bag and all, but honestly, I'm not sure. My thought, backed with sleeping in a mummy for lots of years, is that you wear it like a nice warm loose fitting garment. Cinch it tight around the face, and don't worry it so much. It all works out.

DAJA
02-12-2012, 20:51
I generally try and keep the bag with me when I roll, often by morning it's twisted all around me.

LET
02-12-2012, 21:03
I have a hard time sleeping on a mummy bag. It doesn't help that I use an air sleeping pad inside of it. I always feel like I don't have space to twist and turn. I have thought about using a double bag but that would be bigger to carry. I'm trying to train myself to sleep on my back. Hopefully I can master it soon.

Enic
02-12-2012, 21:24
If you spin inside the bag, your exhales may wet your bag some. Ideally, you should move the bag with you, but it's not a huge deal. If you sleep, that's the most important thing, not how you lay in your bag.

GlazeDog
02-12-2012, 21:36
I'm a spinner. Bag stays put, while I roll on my side. Never had real issues with wetting out from exhaling. If rotate with bag you have zero insulation in front of your face,....and if it wets out less insulation in front of your face. Seems like silly-talk to me. Just get the mummy.....millions side sleep in mummy bags...don't sweat it.

Wil
02-12-2012, 22:00