PDA

View Full Version : Concern of getting lost

Blissful
02-18-2012, 14:52
Okay, I must admit I am so used to nice blazing, lots of signs, easy to follow route. I am getting the heebie jeebies that I'll get totally lost on the BMT, esp road crossings, having to juggle from trail to trail, etc. and I am not very good with a compass either.

Storm
02-18-2012, 18:02
Anyone who can walk the AT north and south should have little problem figuring out how to read a compass and apply it to maps. I only hope I can do half as well as you did. You will do fine.

TOMP
02-18-2012, 18:07
I have done a few unmarked trails and some poorly marked ones, so the best thing you can do is just pay attention to everything. Take note of the "herd" paths and the consistency of them, so if something changes you are aware of it. If it is marked but poorly, take note of the average distance between markers so that you know when you should start to be concerned. Take note of the types of markers in case they change, some paths have changed blaze color over the years and sometimes a different color means your on the wrong trail. And watch out for sticks and branches blocking the route, it may be intentional and not a blow down. Sometimes there is only one lonely branch blocking a side trail. And finally if you have reason to believe you walked down the wrong trail (including gut feelings), dont hesitate to backtrack to the last point that you know 100 percent is the right trail, this may be a waste of time or it may save you alot of time but it's always worth it.

Slo-go'en
02-18-2012, 18:24
For the BMT, I understand it really helps to have the maps. Not having them is one reason I decide to contiune on the AT last spring instead of doing the BMT as I had orginally planned. At the last second when I had to make the decision to turn or go straight, I went straight.