PDA

View Full Version : New to Hiking

Pudwoogie
02-21-2012, 03:18
I am rather new to the whole scene. After reading many articles I have noticed that gear for the most part is all about personal opinion.

My question would be this:

What would you recommend for a newbie hiker? Gear, shoes, accessories, ect.

What I am trying to avoid is buying gear that is targeted at those of us who are new to this. I am a rather big guy so I know that gear in my size will more than likely be hard to find (6'2" and 300lb)

Thank you for your time!

TOMP
02-21-2012, 03:50
I guess it really depends on what you want to do. Do you want to day hike, weekend, or multi-day trips. Do you want to hike and then car camp or are you interested in backpacking.

Most gear is really personal but also most good gear is interchangable as far as brand and will do the job. Assuming you want to be a backpacker, I would get a good light tent (like MSR Hubba, since you are a big guy I would pay attention to the size of the solo tents some would be uncomfortable for large men), a decent pair of boots (brands such as but not limited to La Sportiva, Scarpa, Asolo, etc..) (unless your a trail runner person then just use whatever sneakers you already have until you have some experience), a decent 55L pack (from a decent brand gregory, black diamond, golite (some are frameless so be aware)), and something to carry water if you dont already have it and some aquamira drops. I wouldnt get a kitchen until you know this is something you want to continue to do. Oh and get a sleeping bag, but if you start backpacking in warm weather you can buy any cheap old thing to start with to save some money, just dont expect to use it in cold conditions (I still use a 25 dollar sleeping bag during the summer, works fine).