PDA

View Full Version : Need some advice

JonnoWeir
02-24-2012, 00:51
I have limited knowledge about the PCT and have some questions I'd like answered, as I would love to do some hiking.

I'm a 20 year old guy from Australia currently living up in BC and have a free month between March 15 and April 17 and would love to use that time to hike a portion of the PCT.

Firstly I would like to know whether many people hike alone, and whether this recommended.

Also from what I've read this obviously isn't the necessarily the desired time of year, as there would still be snow in parts and would still be very cold. Do people still hike around that time. Would I be better off getting further down the trail via some sort of transport rather than beginning from the US/Canada border?

Is there any extra gear needed when hiking through the snow apart from warmer clothes? (Haven't experienced much snow hiking in Australia..)

Thanks so much in advance.

fiddlehead
02-24-2012, 07:25
Most likely, there will be way too much snow to find the trail before May/June/July.
So, I don't think you can hike anywhere on the PCT in northern CA/OR/or WAshington at that time.
Southern CA, is the only thing that doable that time of year IMO on the PCT.

Maybe some parts of southern MT on the CDT. (south of Lincoln) Depending on snow levels this year.

Try the PCT-l for more information on current snow levels but be aware that snow lays in the gullys and can be iced over and dangerous to traverse on the PCT as it traverses some steep slopes. At the very least, have an ice ax and know how to use it. In-step crampons are a good idea too.

If you have no snow travel experience, better to wait or go to AZ or southern A

BFI
02-24-2012, 08:53