PDA

View Full Version : Recomended Water filtration System?

HikeME
02-24-2012, 10:01
I am looking at the MSR Hyperflow (http://cascadedesigns.com/msr/water-treatment-and-hydration/fast-and-light-water-treatment-and-hydration/hyperflow-microfilter/product), but since I'm a noob at this I was sure how these ranked among the others.

thanks!

C

Rasty
02-24-2012, 10:04
I thought about the Hyperflow also but read many complaints about it clogging after only a few gallons

mkdixon
02-24-2012, 10:30
I have the Hyperflow and have not had any issues with it. I think it's one of the better filters on the market.

Spokes
02-24-2012, 10:42
Lotta hikers going gravity. Consider the Sawyer 3 Way if you do:

http://www.sawyer.com/SP121.htm

I've never had any luck with MSR "water" stuff. I ditched filtration years ago in favor of AquaMira.

Blissful
02-24-2012, 11:49
Aqua Mira is also a good choice.

Ender
02-24-2012, 11:53
I've been using bleach for years now, and it's worked great. The MSR Sweetwater purifier solution has the perfect sized bottle, and can (and should) be refilled every spring with new bleach.

http://www.rei.com/product/671113/msr-sweetwater-purifier-solution-2oz

Juice
02-24-2012, 12:00
A friend had problems with the Hyperflow clogging from tannic acid and back flushing didn't help much. MSR sent him a new filter but he and his wife had already switched to a different system so he gave me the Hyperflow. The plastic connection on the clean end cracked on me pretty quickly. Aqua Mira for me now!

STINGER1
02-24-2012, 12:04
Pumps break all the time. Aqua Mira is expensive and uses 2 bottles. I'd recommend getting a clear eyes bottle for 3 bucks and filling it with bleach. Super light and bleach is available everywhere. 2 drops per liter, I put 3 its got "stuff" you can see in it. I wait 10 minutes then drink. I've never gotten sick. It's gotta be the cheapest treatment there is. And a full small clear eyes bottle treats about 1000 miles of water.

Papa D