PDA

View Full Version : Finnish Candles

DogPaw
03-01-2012, 14:25
I've learned how to make a Finnish Candle, which is basically a softwood log prepared in such a way as to be a standing torch that you can cook on. I'm not very good at setting fires without a prepared surface or catalyst beforehand, so these seem to be up my alley. What I'd like to know is how dangerous they are to have burning on the trail when I set up camp. They keep about a foot off the ground so scorching isn't an issue, but I'm worried I might set a tree on fire or something. Should I save them for peaks?

Spokes
03-01-2012, 14:39
Congratulations! Sounds like a great trail name...... Better than Esbit Guy.

JAK
03-01-2012, 15:12
Not that easy to make without a chain saw.

DogPaw
03-01-2012, 15:24
Think a hatchet would work? I'm good with one.

JAK
03-01-2012, 16:38
It would be very tricky. A saw and hatchet maybe. You might be better off lashing smaller logs together to form the same sort of shape. Maybe three longer and 4 shorter, with one of the shorter in the center. All cut from the same straight log to be the same diameter.

vamelungeon
03-01-2012, 17:13
OK, I have to google this for pictures/video...but no, you don't want to carry saws or hatchets, that's a lot of weight.

vamelungeon
03-01-2012, 17:16
http://youtu.be/jOAejiwCIpg
Interesting but I don't know if that could be considered a hiking skill. More like a hunting camp or base camp skill. I've got friends that ride horses on mountain trails and camp out, it would be great for them.

rocketsocks
03-01-2012, 17:38
http://youtu.be/jOAejiwCIpg
Interesting but I don't know if that could be considered a hiking skill. More like a hunting camp or base camp skill. I've got friends that ride horses on mountain trails and camp out, it would be great for them.+10 what's the weight on taht log.

rocketsocks
03-01-2012, 17:40
+10 what's the weight on taht log.Sorry my right finger hadn't seen:banana my left finger in a while.:o

JAK