PDA

View Full Version : Leaving possibly May 5th from Springer Mt.

paintedstars
03-02-2012, 18:52
I'm 32 years old and I plan on leaving Springer Mt. Just around the beginning of May. The other thing I want to note is I am a college student and have only 112 days to hike this. I KNOW I can get it done faster actually. I have ran 6 marathons, my PR being 3 hours 35 minutes. I also have ran one intense 50k trail run as well. I know I will not be running this and it's a far longer challenge than any marathon I have ever ran. This has been my dream to accomplish since I was 17 and I have this window of time to accomplish it. I know there are people who say, to section hike it, etc. for more time. I won't accept section hike or take more time, it's Thru Hike or nothing for me~! I have already made up my mind that I will accomplish this journey. I already have most of my gear purchased. I guess what I am looking for is just a little reassurance from some veteran hikers here that I CAN hike the entire AT in 112 days = 3.68 months. Any insight will be taken with an open mind.

thanks,
~paintedstars~

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn't do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” Mark Twain

RWheeler
03-02-2012, 19:11
You're going to want to start out slow so you don't injure yourself, that might be hard for you to do with that deadline looming over your head.

Get your gear in a pack and go out and do weekend trips now, hike ~10 miles a day back to back, see how you handle that. It's very different than running.

Ask yourself this: if you had to pick one, would you rather have only hiked, say, 60% of the trail in the time you have, or hiked on a pace where you could have finished in under 4 months but blow out a knee or get plantar fasciitis within the first week?