PDA

View Full Version : Lets talk about Statins

peakbagger
03-03-2012, 07:59
This is a long post and if you dont take statins or are a youngster, you might want to skip it.

First the standard warning, "I am not a doctor nor do I play one on TV"

For those unfamiliar with statins they are a class of drug used to lower cholesterol. They are a very popular prescription drug that has a very strong industry behind it. For the large majority of people statins are a preventative drug, the intent is to take it now so that you avoid heart attacks in the future. The smaller group of patients are folks who have had heart attacks and the statins are intended to stave off future heart attacks. There is a lifestyle and a genetic component to the drug, if your diet is poor, you are not very active and a smoker, statins can help counteract some of the lifestyle issues, for others its a genetic issue and the statins can counteract inherent imbalances in the bodies chemistry. There is a more than a bit of debate worldwide on statins and their value but as they are quite profitable, the US pharmaceutical industry has turned it into a cash machine and have consistenty tried to expand the market by lowering the recomended blood cholesterol limits. For many folks there are no noticable acute side effects to taking the drugs and their company is paying for it so they take statins.

Unfortunately, statins are slowly turning out to be less the benigh for many folks to the point where there are now going to be getting warnings attached. I find it interesting that the government waited until the major statin Lipotor and a few others were off patent and are now generic before they decided to do this new labeling.