PDA

View Full Version : 2-3 day weekend hikes in NC?

lifeisgood
03-04-2012, 19:31
So I'm new to NC and am looking for some ideas for good 2-3 day weekend hikes. Difficulty of the trail doesn't matter since I grew up backpacking and am currently in good shape. Just figured I would post on here to see if anyone knew of nice loops or out and back hikes that I could fit in on the occasional 3-day weekends I get! Thanks!

4shot
03-04-2012, 19:44
The hike from the gap north of the smokies (near I-40 and the standing bear hostel) into Hot Springs is nice. You will get a good 3000ft. climb over Snowbird on the first day and cross Max Patch, ending up in Hot Springs which is a nice little town.IIRC, that's about a 40 mile walk, which is a bit of a stretch for a 2 day hike for many.You can leave a car at Hot Springs and shuttle back to the gap (Davenport?). shuttle can be arranged thru the outfitter there.

bigcranky
03-04-2012, 20:43
The Standing Indian loop is a nice ~25 mile weekend loop, mostly on the A.T. Park at the trailhead at Standing Indian Campground, about 12 miles west of Franklin, NC, and the loop is obvious on a map.

The Roan Mountain section is terrific, and makes a nice weekend. Try Hughes Gap north to US 19E for the biggest climbs. Several folks in the area offer shuttles.

The 25 miles from I-26 at Sam's Gap north to Erwin, TN, go over Big Bald, which is a lot of fun. Shuttles available in Erwin.

It's just over the border in Virginia, but the Mt Rogers National Recreation Area is top notch. If you park at Grayson Highlands State Park, there are several excellent loop hikes, again obvious on a map. Or get a shuttle from Damascus and hike southbound either from Elk Garden or from Massey Gap for a great weekend hike.

Whack-a-mole
03-04-2012, 23:18