PDA

View Full Version : Nervous on steep inclines?

RedBeerd
03-05-2012, 11:54
Feel free to skip my short story...

About 3 years ago (I was 17) a vacation in NH landed me on a hike up Mt. Monadnock. I was wearing skateboard shoes and carrying an energy drink. I quickly became obsessed with hiking. While working on NH 48 I learned a real lot from many rookie mistakes, such as hiking shoes are ideal, and water as well. Who wouldve thought? I got my ten essentials, an REI membership, and my first day pack. Fast forward a few years and here I am a few months away from my LT e2e. I have an UL setup, and have become a self-taught backpacker (okay okay, a forum/self taught backpacker.) One thing that remains however is a very uneasy feeling on super steep inclines. For example, Mt. Adams via king ravine, or the tripyramid slide.

How many people experience this nervousness when hiking up a very steep incline?
Under the treeline steepness doesnt seem to bother me. Maybe above its the vulnerability?
Has it gone away for the seasoned hikers/backpackers?
Is it jut part of the thrill? When I get to a peak I always feel its worth it. What is everyone elses experience with this?

bigcranky
03-05-2012, 12:00
I feel nervous if there is a steep drop on one side, so a misstep might be fatal. Just a steep trail is no big deal after a while.

Shutterbug
03-05-2012, 12:07