PDA

View Full Version : Section Hikes

Bearleg
03-05-2012, 12:40
I am a teacher with free time in the summer, i want to start section hiking the AT. 1 to 2 weeks time per summer. What in your opion is the best sequence of section.

Hooch
03-05-2012, 12:55
Ah, that's the beauty of section hiking: You can pick and choose your sections as you like and don't have to follow a "sequence", per se. Just go, hike and enjoy!

If you want to find a good section to start with for a few days, look at starting at Carver's Gap and hike to Dennis Cove Road. Great hike! A bit of climbing, but nothing that can't be tackled by taking your time.

ATSeamstress
03-05-2012, 13:09
If you are not an experienced backpacker, begin with a gentler section close to hiker services. The section south of Damascus is good. Shenandoah National Park is a good option as well. As you gain confidence and refine your gear list, go wherever! Get a data book or handbook and begin highlighting the sections you've done.

One word of advice from voice of experience . . . when connecting up with a previously hiked section, begin at the connecting point and hike away from it. Otherwise, if you hike towards it, if you get injured or for whatever reason have to leave the trail early, then you may end up with an 8-mile stretch or so that seems to eat at you and makes logistics a bit more complicated.

bigcranky
03-05-2012, 13:45
I would agree that one joy of section hiking is being able to do a non-linear hike. I've certainly been doing that, skipping all over the Southern portion of the trail as I close in on the halfway mark.

But, let me recommend that your first section begin at Springer Mountain in Georgia, and head north for as long as you have time. Trust me on this, there's just something about beginning at the traditional place that will help in the long run.

bigcranky
03-05-2012, 13:49