PDA

View Full Version : Just Starting to Plan--Help!

bigern
03-25-2005, 19:33
My son (18) and I (49) wish to thru-hike AT in 2007 and are starting to prepare now. Other than a few 20 mile day hikes without packs, we're complete novices and have much to learn before we make the attempt. Strapped on a 6 lb. 6 oz. pack loaded to a total 30 lbs. at REI and felt a bit wobbly in the knees. Don't think I'd enjoy (or survive) with that much weight. Really, really motivated to try AT but think we have to go Ultralight. I know there are some long stretches on AT between resupply points. Three questions: (1) Since we will both be carrying packs, what is the recommended minimum capacity for each of our packs? I actually bought the 6 lb. 6 oz. pack but now am thinking I should return it. But, I'm worried about carrying packs too small for food and water over longer stretches. (2) Over the trails longer stretches, how much weight should be allowed for food and water per person? (3) Any great web sites for Ultralighters?

Thanks for any help you can provide two future thru-hikers.

Nameless
03-25-2005, 21:09
Hello!

Congrats on planning for a hike, you have some great experiences ahead of you.

The first thing that I would recomend doing, is take back the pack. There is no real need for a pack that heavy on the trail, and it only will weigh down on your knees. There are a lot of great packs out there, and most of them are probably cheaper then the pack you bought at REI, but I cannot be sure because i do not know what pack it is. I would recomend leaving the decision on what pack to buy untill you know the approximate weight and volume of the items you are going to carry. I personally believe the Moonbow Gearskin, weighing only a pound, fits my needs best, and it is the pack i bought, but I wouldnt have chose it at the beginning of my selection process.