PDA

View Full Version : Reservoir cleaning kit question

Eywa Dude
03-12-2012, 13:08
I bought a cleaning kit for my Platypus reservoir which consists of a 16" reservoir brush and a long, flexible tube brush. The kit weighs 88 grams. These may be a really stupid questions, as I'm new to using a reservoir, but here it goes:

1. Do I really need to carry this kit with me, or can I send it ahead in my bounce box at specific intervals? (I will be putting only water in my reservoir - no sports drinks). What are your thoughts and suggestions on dealing with this kit?

2. How often do I have to clean my reservoir? Is it a whiff/taste test kind of thing?

3. Do I have to use reservoir specific cleaning tabs, or can I use something like Polident? And if I do have to use reservoir specific tabs, are they readily available on the trail?

4. Sorry for using the word "reservoir" in this post so much! Thanks guys.

moof53
03-12-2012, 15:34
I use a Camelbak but it should be about the same. Also, these are just my opinions and not gospel.

1. Carrying the kit. Have used the Camelbak for several years but nothing over more than about 10 days at any one time. For my 2013 thru I plan on putting cleaning items for the water bladder in my bounce box which I will get to ever couple of weeks. As long as I rinse it out, especially the drinking tube, every couple of days along the trail it should be good for a couple of weeks without a complete cleaning. The drinking tube is a little more sensitive to cleaning I think than the bladder itself.

2. Usually I can begin to detect a plastic taste which to me means it is time to clean. Letting it set in the heat for long periods of time without use will decrease the time between cleanings.

3. I know a lot of people use Polident to freshen the bladder because they don't want to buy the tabs. I believe even Camelbak on their site suggests this as an alternative. However, I use the tabs.