PDA

View Full Version : Good Workouts?

untitleddocument
03-22-2012, 18:48
Hello all,

I am new to the AT, but have been hiking in the NH Whites all my life, including having done several weeklong expeditions. As I prepare to hit the AT this May, I was wondering if you had any tips for fitness preparation. I am a college XC runner, and do 50-70 miles per week, depending on time availability. I was wondering what some good workouts would be as practice, especially in regards to weightlifting (I definitely have skinny runner syndrome). I am aware that nothing can truly prepare one for the rigors of the AT, but I would like to go into it with at least some level of comfort.

Thanks!

ScottP
03-22-2012, 19:05
You'll need some muscle mass, especially in the calves.

Strong middle/long distance runners are some of the most injury prone hikers out there.

Cycling (with proper form and cycling shoes), jumping rope, trail running, stairs, eccentric calf lifts, etc.

Keep an eye on your body, especially your achilles

Keep your pack weight as low as possible

JAK
03-22-2012, 19:11
Skinny runners make the best hikers. Just keep the weight down. Even with a havy pack you are better prepared than someone like myself carrying an extra 40 pounds of excess body fat. You are good to go, but hill training should help your hiking and your running. If you don't have hills, use stadium stairs. If you don't have stadium stairs, use weights. Squats are good. For upper body and core you really don't need much more than for running 50-70 miles per week. If you are interested in being a more rounded athlete, than I would suggest training for paddling in addition to hiking and running. Lot's of great rivers in Maine. There is an anual 100 mile race from Old Town to Katahdin.

ScottP
03-22-2012, 19:17
all I can say from the last two posts is LOL.

We're both right.