PDA

View Full Version : Steripen at Costco

NorthCountryWoods
03-26-2012, 15:58
Not showing up online, but saw them in the Colchester warehouse for $29.99. Just an FYI.

Never used one, so I have no personal experience.

Bucho
03-26-2012, 16:04

I'd recommend that you keep it that way.

NorthCountryWoods
03-26-2012, 16:29
I take it they don't work?

blackbird04217
03-26-2012, 16:44
I don't have much to say about mine either good or bad. It worked when I felt the need to treat. It had advantages and disadvantages like anything else. I would recommend carrying a backup treatment plan like bleach or aqua mira, but I really took it for the comfort of those times getting water when I really had a bad feeling about it for whatever reason (just got walking down from a pasture of cows).

Good: Treat water in 90 seconds and drinkable there, fairly light weight treatment. (lighter with lithium batteries that last longer as well).
Bad: Electronic, takes batteries which can die or like most (new) technology work on its schedule.

Spokes
03-26-2012, 16:49

I call it the "heartache stick".

4eyedbuzzard
03-26-2012, 17:21
Had mine 2 years. no problems. really good for regular traveling in the carribean and mexico as wells

Mrs Baggins
03-27-2012, 06:47
Saw a guy at Hawk Mountain shelter, first night out, realize that the light bulb was already broken in his Steripen. I'll stick to my MSR Sweetwater pump/filter until I decide to buy a Gigarig.

rocketsocks
03-27-2012, 07:20
I call it the "heartache stick".Do they work on polyps.

Rain Man
03-27-2012, 09:05
I have the Steripen Classic (got it via scratch-and-dent at REI). Have had it for several years. I also have a Katadyn Hiker and tablets and have had the iodine crystal stuff. Even had a Platypus gravity feed system for an extremely short while.

The Steripen is easily my "go to" water treatment method for my hikes here in the Southeast.

Rain:sunMan

Shutterbug
03-27-2012, 10:36