PDA

View Full Version : New trail-runner convert, my feet hurt

Zim
04-02-2012, 11:46
Just 2 weeks before my 500 mile section hike, I called an audible and switched out my Ahnu Elkridge Mid boots for a pair of barely worn La Sportiva Wildcats from the REI used gear sale. I've been hiking steadily for the last 4 months in preparation for my trip and had no problem with my boots, but I managed to keep my pack weight down under 30 and figured I should give the trailrunners a try. The verdict:

On a moderate 16 mile day on varying terrain and little elevation, the shoes fit perfectly, provided fantastic traction (better than the boots) and my legs felt lighter and fresher than with the boots. Also, no knee pain, which usually crops up on the end of a long day. However, my feet were in a good deal of pain when I finished, more than I ever experienced in my boots. They were fine the day afterward, maybe just a little sore. Nothing I can't handle, but I want to make sure before I hit the trail that this is not abnormal and that I am not risking any damage to my feet. Besides that, I think I am drinking the trailrunner cool-aid.

ScottP
04-02-2012, 11:56
it takes a while for the body to adapt to new things. Careful not to overdo it and hurt yourself.

daddytwosticks
04-02-2012, 13:24
I won't use the term pain, but if I carry a heavy load and do lots of miles, at the end of the day, my dogs are barking. They are usually fine the next day. :)

flemdawg1
04-02-2012, 14:12
16 miles is a good chunk of mileage, my feet would hurt too.

hikerboy57
04-02-2012, 14:14
you may need a stiiffer insole, as mot trail runners lasts are not as sturdy as most boots.

Zim
04-02-2012, 14:17

Hah, fair point! My concern was just that I noticed my feet hurt more with the runners than boots and I wanted to know if this was normal.

Zim
04-02-2012, 14:17
you may need a stiiffer insole, as mot trail runners lasts are not as sturdy as most boots.

Thanks, I'll look into doing that.

ChinMusic