PDA

View Full Version : Side sleeper

hawkeye
03-31-2005, 17:24
I am looking at hammocks. How do you (hammock owners) sleep on your side? Is it comfy or better if your a back sleeper? Also will a therma-rest pad work with a hammock? I am doing the Long trail in Sept. so I think finding trees to rope to should not be a problem.

WhiteMtns
03-31-2005, 17:50
I am looking at hammocks. How do you (hammock owners) sleep on your side? Is it comfy or better if your a back sleeper? Also will a therma-rest pad work with a hammock? I am doing the Long trail in Sept. so I think finding trees to rope to should not be a problem.

I've been hanging an older (non-Asym) Hennessy for a few years, and it is the only way to sleep on your side.

The asym is probably a little easier if you like to sleep stretched out straight...on my side I always have my knees bent a little in a half-fetal position.

After sleeping this way in the Hennessy...I've never slept on the ground again.

I am working up a homemade hammock, and hope to have the same success.

I've never tried sleeping on my side in a Speer or other type of cocoon hammock...I think the Hennessy's side tie outs make it too good...

Mountain Hippie
03-31-2005, 18:14
I have no problems sleeping on my side in either of my Hennessy asym and non-asym models. Whitemtns is correct, you can stretch out a little more in the asym as opposed to the non.
I have found the thermarest(TR) to be a bit of a nuisance to use in the Hennessy and I have chosen to use a standard closed cell foam pad. The CCFP gives you more coverage than the TR so you are less likely to find yourself against the bare material of the hammock. In side/top entry hammocks it is easier to deploy the TR although the width may still be an issue.
My next purchase will be an under quilt. You may wish to consider this option as well. You can find a wealth of info about under quilts on this site. :)

Waucheesi
03-31-2005, 22:36