PDA

View Full Version : GossGear Trekking poles, few questions and/or anything better?

kidchill
04-03-2012, 18:33
So, I need a pair of UL trekking poles for a SOBO AT thru. Primary needs are UL and adjustable (I refuse to carry fixed length!). I was originally looking at the LT4S (http://gossamergear.com/trekking/trekking/black-straps.html) because they already have straps attached, but then I saw the handle design on the LT4 (http://gossamergear.com/trekking/trekking/lt4-trekking-poles.html) and it appears to be different. I think in terms of the poles themselves they're roughly the same, but I dig the handles on the LT4. So, a few questions. Anyone know of any adjustable poles other than GossGear that are roughly the same weight (~7.2oz total weight)? How necessary are straps? Could I ghetto rig straps somehow if the grip of the LT4 is preferable? And, anyone have either of these poles and can comment on the grip? I'm new to hiking with poles, but changed my tent, so I can now carry poles and still cut my tent weight by ~11oz. Thanks for any info!

rlmcarth
04-03-2012, 20:02