PDA

View Full Version : Quilt Users, do you sleep directly on pad or use a sheet?

plurpimpin
04-08-2012, 12:52
I'm in the process of making a down quilt to use on my thru hike. I'm new to the world of quilts. I was wondering if other quilt users sleep directly on their pad or if they use some kind of sheet/cover? In the summer I usually don't wear long underwear to bed so I was wondering how the neo air is on bare skin? is if fine or am I going to want something on top of it? The neoair fabric is grippier than other pads I've used in the past.

Slo-go'en
04-08-2012, 13:54
I had the same question when I was thinking about using a quilt. I don't think bare skin on a neo-air would be too pleasent. I figured I'd use my silk liner.

But when push came to shove and I had to decide between a quilt and a mummy bag, I stuck with the mummy bag. I figure I can use the mummy bag as a quilt if I had to, but I can't use a quilt like a mummy bag and there wasn't a significant weight/size difference for a 30 degree rating.

leaftye
04-08-2012, 13:57
Directly on the pad if I'm backpacking. I'll bring a pad cover if I'm car camping.

Rocket Jones
04-08-2012, 14:39
I usually have a shirt and shorts on when I sleep, so no pad cover for me. If it's too warm for clothes at night, I'll pull the shirt over the pad as a cover.

T-Rx
04-08-2012, 15:17
I use a silk liner with my neoair and top quilt. In the winter the liner adds warmth and often in the summer I don't need the top quilt as the liner itself provides enough cover for sleeping.

Tinker
04-08-2012, 16:39
I've used a mummy bag as a quilt in warm weather. I wear light wool long johns and tops. Silk might be better. A bag liner is a single purpose item. You can't wear one to walk around in camp or go to the outhouse or bushes.
I'm going to buy some silk undies this year :)

ScottP
04-08-2012, 18:23
directly on pad

bigcranky
04-08-2012, 20:39