PDA

View Full Version : Stoves: Pocket Rocket vs. Simmerlite

jawilson20
04-02-2005, 00:04
I am looking into these stoves( i dont want to make my own). I need to know a few things first. What is the availibility of fuels for these stoves in towns? Which performs better?

Twigs
04-02-2005, 09:54
From the small amount of research I have done, it seems regular Coleman fuel would be more available. The PR is fast to setup, but remember its supposedly hard to get going in cold weather. I have no experience with either. If you are a solo hiker, there are several good online dealers for "popcan" stoves for fair prices so you don't have to make your own. For two, they are a bit slow and not fuel effictive. IMHO.

tlbj6142
04-02-2005, 10:34
All of your questions are answerd in these three threads. In short if don't want to go with a wood, esbit or alcohol stove, you should go with a canister stove. I would, however pick a different stove than the Pocket Rocket. The Coleman Exponent F1 Ultralight (http://www.coleman.com/coleman/ColemanCom/detail.asp?product_id=9741-700)canister stove (make sure you get the 'ultralight version') got top marks on a recent canister stove review amongst 8+ other stoves including the PR.

Canister fuel tips/availablity....

This comes up quite often, and I believe between Chris, Jack and others almost all of the answers have been posted within the past 2-3 months.

http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?t=7294
http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?t=6152
http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?t=2868

All of these combined cover the topic very well.

"ME & U"
04-02-2005, 11:41
Have both and ran a test. The simmerlte rocks but white gas...the pocket rocket rolls but canister... esbit rules man!

If you have to go this route, then I would suggest the pocket rocket because of the wt savings alone. Fuel is an issue but either way you'll be dealing with the same issue wether gas, can, solid, or alcohol.