PDA

View Full Version : Mid 40's Sleep System

JustDSM
04-16-2012, 10:30
Wanted to get some takes on something I'm thinking about trying to keep bulk and weight as low as possible. I'd like to hear from those who've tried similar or have some setup you think would meet the intent of what I'm trying out here.

I'll be heading out for a weekend backpacking trip to a NF area here in the SW part of New Mexico where the temps are forcasted to be in the low 80s for the High and the mid 40's in the evenings. No rain is expected. We're packing in a few miles to visit a natural hot springs and I'd like to test out a means to keep weight and bulk out of my pack (trying to fit everything in my CamelBak Fourteener).

The plan:
REI Minimalist Bivy
Thermarest NeoAir
Cocoon Silk or Cotton liner
Sleeping in my clothing

Does this sounds retarded? :-? I have no experience using this Bivy, as I just picked it up with my REI dividend and 20% off coupon. I gather it'll add some warmth, and I'm a "typical" sleeper as in not hot or cold, but I still like to be cozy. The only other sleeping bag I've got is a 20g Kelty down bag which is overkill as far as temps go, so I'm wanting to try and go as minimalist as possible still maintaining a acceptable level of comfort.

Is this feaseable? Better ideas? I'd like to see the looks on the other guys I'm going with when they see my daypack is all I'm bringing on a weekend trip! :eek:

Tom Murphy
04-16-2012, 12:14
I have tried something similar to this but ended up cold. I bought mid-weight wool baselayers/hat/gloves and a down vest.

Ended up having to break out my emergency space blanket. The blanket was a big help but also trapped moisture. Since I was only out for two nights I thought it was a good one time solution.

This summer I am planning on using a down quilt instead.