PDA

View Full Version : anyone use the REI Quarterdome tent?

neonshaw
04-19-2012, 21:37
I am curious has this tent and what you think of it.

I have a 6 moons single layer silnylon tent and it works pretty well but condenses to much on the inside. I saw the REI QD on a recent trip and it looked like a good but slightly heavier option. Curious about how waterproof it is, weight, etc....

Sailing_Faith
04-19-2012, 21:45
Mine is pretty new, I have maybe 10-12 nights in it so I am not an expert. It is dry, and not too tough to pitch. I have slept in it in heavy winds and driving rain and did not have any water inside (but did have a flood one other night but that was my hydration bladder, not the tent).

Tough to go wrong with REI, if you get it and you are not happy you can take it back....

FWIW, I am not taking mine back.

neonshaw
04-19-2012, 21:53
I have decided I want a tent with a fly. I like 1.5 lb tents but those are single layer. I am resolved to having to carry 2.5 lbs +/- for a tent with a fly

chip2012
04-19-2012, 22:18
http://www.lightheartgear.com

skinewmexico
04-20-2012, 02:04
I have a Quarterdome T3 that is a very nice, but heavy, 2 person tent. I don't like it nearly as much as my new (double wall) Tarptent Stratosphire 2. You'll get just as much condensation in a Quarterdome, you just have a layer of mesh to (hopefully) divert it. Site selection is the key.

Hiking Man
04-20-2012, 08:07
I have the quarterdome t2 and carried it for years. Great tent and i really loved it, I just got the lightheart gear duo and i am not sure if the quarterdome will see any more action. The lightheart at over 50oz lighter and almost twice as much room inside the tent its hard for the quarterdome to stack up to that. Also i have had the lightheart duo on in some crazy stoms and it held up great. It does blow around a little more the the quearterdome did, but i never felt it was going to fall in. Happy tent hunting.

Tom Murphy
04-20-2012, 09:37