PDA

View Full Version : How was YOUR experience??.Newbie HERE.

Angel_Kisses
04-23-2012, 11:31
Hellllooo to all :)
I would love to hear the experience of those who've hiked through Damascus, VA to Marion, VA...
If this is the most reasonable..I'll be coming from Lakeland, FL...looking to fly to Tri-Cities Regional Airport..catch a shuttle to Damascus to start off with...
It's a tid bit difficult to plan and it'll be my first time, but I'm not letting anything get in the way of this opportunity.
Anyone has any advise feel free...
I'm so ready to be outdoors:banana
happy..happyyyy trails everyone.

Kerosene
04-23-2012, 17:47
I covered this section, southbound, in early June 2007 over a great stretch of weather. Lone Wolf shuttled me up to Atkins/Groseclose (the I-81 crossing) where I had stopped a few years earlier. I have quite a bit of backpacking experience, but this was a great stretch of trail and relatively easy. I felt so good that day that I blew by my planned stopping place and just kept walking on a lovely quiet evening until I reached Trimpi Shelter 22 miles away.

It poured that night but the heavy wind dried everything out. Once again, the weather was perfect and I was in the groove, much earlier than usual. I had another great day of hiking, up past The Scales all the way to Wise Shelter for another 20-mile day.

Another big thunderstorm blew through that night, but by early morning it was crisp and clear to herald yet another perfect day. I made my way through Grayson Highlands, enjoying the incredible vistas and open meadows, but not seeing any of the wild ponies until I was almost at Thomas Knob Shelter. After a big, early dinner at Lost Mountain Shelter, I decided to put in a few more miles to Saunders Shelter for the night (27 total).

It dawned warm and humid the next day, and got warmer as I descended to Damascus for the 9 miles left for this trip.