PDA

View Full Version : New to the forum and new to hiking

HangNhike
04-24-2012, 19:39
Hello all. I am posting on here in hopes of getting some advice and knowledge. I am a very novice hiker. So much so that I have only done one day hike on the FL trail. On May 8th I am heading out for 4 days (3 nights) on the AT. I am going with two friends who are both Eagle Scouts and experienced backpackers. I am a "hammock camper" too and looking forward to using my setup on the trail. We are doing a section in Tennessee from the Dennis Cove road parking to TN91 parking area. Any advice for hiking this area would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks

flemdawg1
04-25-2012, 10:30
have you spent a night in your hammock with temps in the mid-30s? Somewhat likely those temps can come in early May.

Did that section last summer, the toughest part is the long 2000 ft climb up from Watuaga Dam. Make sure to take a break at the Laurel Fork Falls.

Rain Man
04-25-2012, 13:42
You didn't mention, but if not already planning on it in Dennis Cove, seriously consider checking out Kincora Hostel run by Bob Peoples. Great guy!

Rain:sunMan

HangNhike
04-25-2012, 17:03
have you spent a night in your hammock with temps in the mid-30s? Somewhat likely those temps can come in early May.

Did that section last summer, the toughest part is the long 2000 ft climb up from Watuaga Dam. Make sure to take a break at the Laurel Fork Falls.

I have not stayed in it with temps that low before. I do have a 35 degree rated under quilt and 35 degree rated mummy bag

We are stopping at the shelter at the top of that mountain which i believe is Laurel Fork. We are hiking south to north and the first day will only be about 5 miles because of that 2000ft climb lol

flemdawg1
04-25-2012, 17:53