PDA

View Full Version : Using Trail Runner shoes for normal backpacking?

HangNhike
04-24-2012, 19:51
I'm very new to hiking and this is my first backpacking trip. I went and purchased a pair of shoes today and I know I wanted a lighter shoe as I know that a heavy shoe fatigues me. After trying on a few pairs i ended up with the Salomon XA PRO 3D Ultra 2 shoes. Apparently these are trail runners. Any issue using these as a regular hiking shoe? Pack load prob 25-35 lbs...

BabySue
04-24-2012, 20:06
Excellent choice. You'll find lots of trail runners on hikers. It's mostly a matter of preference. Use them if they work for you. If you find you need more ankle support, cushion, etc. then upgrade to boots someday. My guess is you'll be fine. Note: with a lot of shoes in this price range & up the assumption is that many wearers will replace the insole thus the factory insole is wimpy. If they seem too thin, that's likely the problem. Also, there's a thread way down in the gear section about how to get free replacement laces if your cinch mechanism loses grip. If this happens on a trip where you can't get laces, just cut them & tie them like regular ones.

Malto
04-24-2012, 20:32
No problem with them at all. Generally they are a more naroow shoe especially in the toe box vs. something like the LaSportiva Wildcat. But if it feels good go with it. Give yourself a bit of time to get used to the laces. Once you master them you will likely love them since they wont lossen up especially on the downhills.

Papa D
04-24-2012, 20:42
You are off to a good start with trail runners - - don't let some know-nothing clerk in an outdoor store sell you some heavy boots (unless it's snowing hard)

HangNhike
04-24-2012, 21:02
You are off to a good start with trail runners - - don't let some know-nothing clerk in an outdoor store sell you some heavy boots (unless it's snowing hard)