PDA

View Full Version : Section hike shuttle advice

bulljive
04-26-2012, 12:40
I'm new to section hiking the AT (fairly experienced at backpacking though) and I am looking for some feedback on the logistics of a 7-day section hike I'm planning for mid-May.

I'm planning to park at Mountain Harbour B&B in Roan Mountain TN at the start of my trip and hiking north from there for a week. 4-5 days into the trip I should have a very clear idea where I want to finish: so I'm thinking of arranging a shuttle before my trip begins, arranging a specific date and general region in VA where I'd like to be picked up, then several days into my trip calling again to give a specific location & time for pickup to be taken back to my car. Would this be too much of an imposition on the shuttle service, or do people do this kind of thing regularly?

I'm not thrilled about getting a shuttle ride on the front end of my trip and ending at my car, because I'd rather make the most of my 7 days and see what distance I make.

Lyle
04-26-2012, 13:52
I generally prefer to do it the opposite of what you are proposing, but that can cause difficulties as well, like locking you into more of a schedule. I just prefer to end at my truck and head home or to a motel without having to mess with a shuttle at the end. Your proposed method has the advantage that you aren't tied to any type of schedule.

I've stayed at, left my vehicle at, and shuttled from Mountain Harbour in the past. Great folks, dependable. I would arrange both your parking and shuttle with them. I'm pretty sure they could be flexible as long as you can be flexible as well on the details of pick-up time etc. Best advice I would have is to give them a call, and see what they say.