PDA

View Full Version : Need recommendations for Hiking boot insoles

Cozy
04-27-2012, 12:50
Disclaimer: I'm new at backpacking thing.....
1) Am I supposed to take the old insoles out (I bought 3/4 insoles) and replace them with the new ones? Or do they go on top of the old ones.
2) What are some suggestions on the best insoles to get?

I wear Hi Tech waterproof boots. Went to Sports Authority and placed my feet on the machine to see what kind of insoles I needed. Got the Aiir Arch Performance Insole which is a (little longer than a) 3/4 quarter insole- meaning the insoles stop right before the toes- it's not full length. If I take the original insole out, than the new insert seems not as cushiony (yeah, at the toes)- it's harder. If I keep both insoles in, it provides more cushion but less room - especially with hiking socks.

I went out today with a brand new backpack with about 20 lbs on me wearing wool socks and liners on a 4 miles hike (with both insoles in). While cushiony, I got some tender spots. I guess I can use a thinner wool sock???

Help. Thx.

Moose2001
04-27-2012, 13:03
Take the old insoles out and put the news one in. Do yourself a BIG favor and ditch the waterproof boots. You'll cut way down on blisters and your feet will thank you for getting breathable boots.

WILLIAM HAYES
04-27-2012, 19:11
try green superfeet

tdoczi
04-27-2012, 19:19
no real idea whats technically correct, but i accidentally wore my boots without insoles for a day once and the thought of going hiking with even 1/4 of the foot suffering without an insole is not a pleasant one at all. either its meant to go on top of the original insole or its something i wouldnt even contemplate ever using for hiking.

Derf
04-27-2012, 20:10
there are so many choice out there, we us sole http://www.yoursole.com/us/footbeds/ they have many options to choose from with p
lantar fasciitis they are the only insoles I would recommend.

bflorac
04-28-2012, 20:16