PDA

View Full Version : First days on the AT

Mitey Mo
04-29-2012, 21:07
I am new to hiking but very much in love with it . Being a 61 year old small woman I wanted to find out what I could do. My29 year old son went hiking with me from Front Royal to Elkwallow wayside this weekend. I carried a 26 lb pack (I am 112 lbs) I loved every minute of it It was challenging and intense. I held up pretty good. No knee problems that I feared would slow me down even further. I hike in the mountains at about 1 1/2 mph. We did 12 miles first day and hammocked at Gravel Springs. Very cold night _ 38*. Did 6 miles to Elkwallow Wayside and called husband to take us back to our car at 4h center Hitching idea didn't work. Home is hour and half away! We saw a deer that almost ran us off the trail and a bear eating new tree leaves for breakfast! Many wildflowers!! This trip answered two questions I needed answered and that is I should only do about 7 - 8 miles a day if I to do more than one day and I would prefer to hike with a companion to share the experience with. The trip was concluded by getting to meet Mouse Bait, Meats, and Geronimo at the wayside. What a fun, friendly and lively bunch of young people! Hope you make it to Maine, guys! We did pass Aloha Grandpa on the trail but he seemed in a hurry. Meats told us he was 78 years old and got up every day and hit the trail hard!! I think he will make it. 78!!! Now I have to get up tomorrow and go to work :(

Blissful
04-29-2012, 22:23
Glad you had a good time. :)

slovakiasteph
04-29-2012, 23:52
I'm going out on the AT for the first time this summer and am also looking forward to seeing how I'll hold up! Sounds like you had a great trip. :)

Loneoak
04-30-2012, 00:11
Sounds like you had a wonderful, now know your limits and got to see some really cool wildlife/flowers. Hope you are able to get out more often.

rocketsocks
04-30-2012, 00:40