PDA

View Full Version : Backpacker newbie

trailchick
05-01-2012, 11:25
Hi,
I am fairly new to backpacking and have only gone 2X. One time was Chesters Gap to Harpers Ferry WV. It was amazing. I am planning a hike for about two weeks or more in June. I would like some suggestions or recomendations for a part of the AT that would be best suited for the begining of June, and for aproximatley 150/200 miles. I am from PA.
Thanks much :sun

bigcranky
05-01-2012, 13:07
Drive to Harper's Ferry, get on the trail, and hike South. ~130 miles gets you to Rockfish Gap (I-64), ~200 miles gets you to US60 (I think, no databook handy here at work.) Great section through Shenandoah NP and beyond.

Kerosene
05-01-2012, 14:38
I'd drive to Damascus, catch a shuttle up to Pearisburg, and hike back to your car.

pyroman53
05-01-2012, 14:52
A lot depends on logistics. If someone can drop you off, maybe drive south and walk north, and when you run outta time, call for a pickup. You'll be relatively close to home when you need the pickup.

If you're driving and need to park somewhere, that opens up another set of challenges Where to park? Who can shuttle? Hike to your car? Hike away from your car?

Folks here can help with those details.

trailchick
05-01-2012, 15:12
Thank you for all the responses. I am getting very confused w the planning, but it's all good. I am debating on getting a drop off in Harpers Ferry and walk to MD. does that make sense. I want to have a great experience as well, so I plan to stay out of PA as its known to be so rocky. decisions, decisions....

tdoczi
05-01-2012, 17:32
Thank you for all the responses. I am getting very confused w the planning, but it's all good. I am debating on getting a drop off in Harpers Ferry and walk to MD. does that make sense. I want to have a great experience as well, so I plan to stay out of PA as its known to be so rocky. decisions, decisions....