PDA

View Full Version : Tick Infestation-Heads Up!

goody5534
05-02-2012, 21:12
Today, while hiking the AT in Connecticut, with my dog, from Undermountain Rd southbound to Giants Thumb (8 miles and 4 hrs) and we were attacked by Ticks. I am new to backpacking and hiking on trails (200 miles logged) but have spent all of life hunting and fishing and I never seen THIS. I have taken "20 plus" off of me which included 3 embedded ticks. However it was my dog (Jack) who was attacked like nothing I ever seen before. 3 hours later and 2 baths for Jack I have removed 50 embedded ticks and over 200 ticks from his coat. All 3 species Deer, Dog and Lone Star from nymph to full-grown, were accounted for. I am horrified to bring Jack with me again and was near tears picking these nasty "****ers" off my dog. I was wearing long pants, long sleeve Wicking Tee, long sleeve jacket, hat and used normal amounts of Deet. I have the CT DEP's latest suggestions but I am looking for more suggestion from more experienced hiker who hike with dogs.

robbie (no trail name yet)

WhiplashEm
05-02-2012, 21:17
Good grief. I live in northeast Alabama and we don't have that many ticks but my aunt recently contracted Lyme disease from a tick bite.

chip2012
05-02-2012, 21:26
Ticks are very heavy in north ga as well. I pull a couple off of me every day. I pulled 10-15 (mostly in the ear) off of the neighbors dog yesterday and 6 off this morning. Going to be a heavy year.

leaftye
05-02-2012, 21:28
Permithrin. Spray it on all your clothing. I think that's what tick collars have on them. With ticks that bad, I might try to get a permithrin-treated vest on the dog.

Cozy
05-02-2012, 21:28
Sorry to hear about your experience. I have a lab and that's why I am hesitant about taking her. I don't have any advice about what to do but wanted to suggest that "ticker" or something similiar may be a good trail name for you.

bigcranky
05-02-2012, 21:36
Permethrin. Don't repel the little ****ers, murder them.