PDA

View Full Version : Will staying at a hostel break my bank?

KristalB
05-09-2012, 20:12
I am dropping by the Pine Grove Furnace Hostel some time this summer and I am new to the whole hostel idea. How much can I expect to shell out for bunking there and what will be available to me there? Thanks for your input. :)

kayak karl
05-09-2012, 20:23
did you call them? just a thought. most places i paid $10-20. some shuttles and shower are included (but tip the driver)

Sandy of PA
05-09-2012, 20:26
Ironmasters Hostel was $25 in 2011, no laundry available. Vegetarian spagetti dinner, frozen waffle breakfast. Checkin 5 PM out by 9 AM.

Old Hiker
05-09-2012, 20:29
+1 for the prices from Karl. Also, Mountain Harbor had a killer breakfast for an additional $9. I camped in their parking lot for $7, I think. The Braemer Castle was $35 for a large private room.

Please, please, please,though, when you use the common areas, kitchen, etc. be sure to clean up after yourself. I really don't think maid service should or is included in the prices. Plus, it's just common courtesy.

Lugnut
05-09-2012, 20:35
Kincora is only $4.00 donation which includes laundry, shower and kitchen. Some give more and some give nothing so they can buy more beer in Damascus! :mad:

KristalB
05-09-2012, 20:39
Wise advice, all. Thank you for the insight. It's always sooo appreciated. I'll call Ironmasters Hostel in the morning. If they are full, then I will Google Mountain Harbor or maybe even camp at the campground since it's right there.

Again, thanks for the help, y'all. I hope I find such amazing people on trail as I meet at Whiteblaze.net. :D

Jeff
05-09-2012, 20:40
The thread below was updated in late 2011 but will give you an idea of hostels up and down the AT.

http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/content.php?209-Hostels-and-Lodging-along-the-Appalachian-Trail

KristalB
05-09-2012, 20:56
The thread below was updated in late 2011 but will give you an idea of hostels up and down the AT.