PDA

View Full Version : Eno doublenest or Hennessy expedition?

Brooney
05-17-2012, 08:45
Hammock noob here, and I'm doing a 100 mile AT hike in Sept. I'm debating on which one to get. This weekend REI has the doublenest for $45, but I'm assuming I'll probably spend close to $200 after I get the net and fly anyway. Hennessy would come in around $200 after all is said and done. Thoughts?

romany
05-17-2012, 09:00
I'd say the Hennessy...it's a well thought out system...comfortable, fairly light, easy to get in and out, bugproof and stays clean. but check www.hammockforums.com (http://www.hammockforums.com) for more info.

1azarus
05-17-2012, 09:15
I'd say get more opinions. some love hennessy hammocks, others hate them. as romany said, they are a well thought out system which makes it relatively easy for a new hammock user to get started -- but, as a system, the hammock lacks the flexibility and ease of entry that a simpler hammock has. I would definitely go with ANY simple gathered end hammock, bug net and fly over a hennessy. By the way, unless you are a "big guy" the double hammock may be way more fabric than you really need to be comfortable. I've used both the double and single hammock, and have settled on the single as meeting my comfort needs at the lightest weight. There is no really wrong decision here -- if you like hammocks, you'll probably end up getting a second one soon enough!!! You can let your friends use the one you like the least.

Cadenza
05-24-2012, 21:13
I would definitely go with ANY simple gathered end hammock, bug net and fly over a hennessy.

Agreed!
Hennessy would be my LAST choice for a hammock.

If you want one of the "full-featured" type hammocks with bells and whistles,....have a look at Clarks Jungle Hammocks.
I've got three of them. If I had it to do over I would avoid the NX models with the fiberglass poles.
My favorite model is the Ultralight.