PDA

View Full Version : New to Hammock Camping

Ed G
04-08-2005, 14:04
Hello all. I'm brand new to hammock camping.

In fact, I just received my first camping hammock two weeks ago and have yet to try it out in the field. I have hung it up in my backyard to enjoy a few beers of course!

I purchased a "Jungle Hammock" from Tom Claytor at mosquitohammock.com.

Being from the Orlando, Fl area, most of my camping is done in the winter months. It is often raining and cool (40 degrees) at night.

My hammock came with both a rectangular fly and a diamond shape fly. Which fly shape is better for rain protection to keep a down bag dry?

The rectangular fly has clips sewn in to connect the mosquito netting's elastic cords and keeps the cords under the tarp. (set up pictures on website)

Any tips on keeping dry with a hammock would be greatly appreciated.

I am an experienced Florida Jungle backpacker - with a tent. I have carried a small nylon net hammock with me for years, but never relied on one as my sole means of shelter. I'm also real paranoid about getting down wet.

Thanks in advance!

Ed G

neo
04-08-2005, 14:35
you come to the right place and welcome to the world of hammock hanging,i have 4 hennessey hammock and use them all 4 season,i do not know anything about the hammock you have,but i did look at the website,looks pretty cool
keep us posted:cool: neo

Ed G
04-08-2005, 14:41
any advantage to the diamond over the rectangular or visa versa?

SGT Rock
04-08-2005, 14:44
One takes less stakes?

I'd have to look at it to get a better idea before I give you bad advice.

Youngblood
04-08-2005, 16:00
...I'd have to look at it to get a better idea before I give you bad advice.Sarge,
Your underestimating your abilities... even I can give him bad advice before I look at it. :clap http://www.mosquitohammock.com/

Youngblood

peter_pan
04-08-2005, 16:37
Ed G,