PDA

View Full Version : Pls help: rain pants vs. no pants dilemma

Cozy
05-18-2012, 07:35
Pls help. I'm really torn as to what to do. I'm doing a section hike in central VA to Harper's Ferry the end of May into June. Weather reports already show rain. I will be wearing nylon conversion pants and will have a pair of Columbia breathable waterproof rain pants. Some posts I have read said a person will get wet anyway inside the rain pants (sweat) while others say it's good to have for insulation purposes if the rain is cold and/or to wear as an added insulation (especially at night).

With the conversion pants be enough? Will they basically do what the rain pants will do? Weather is supposed to be low 50's to low 80's, but I realize temperature drops 3-4 degrees per 1000 feet, making this 40-70 degree.

Further info: I have a 40 degree bag with liner blanket I'm bringing.

(Yes, I'm from Florida -20 years now- but I grew up in the Northeast.) Would appreciate any opinions, as I'm a newbie, but especially from those who have hiked this region around this time frame.

Thx, folks.

Cozy
05-18-2012, 07:53
P.S. The conversion cargo pants are made of the Supplex nylon and are 13 oz.
Rain pants are 10 oz.
(I also have a pair of Columbia water resistant nylon pants at 9 oz. but it only has one pocket.)

Don H
05-18-2012, 08:12
40 degree bag might be a little light.
If it's cold and raining you need rain or wind pants to keep you warm, not dry. You're gonna get wet either from sweat or rain but you need them to stay warm. I ditched my rain pants in Harpers Ferry around the first of June. My convertible hiking pants kept my legs warm enough after until I got to NH.

garlic08
05-18-2012, 08:17