PDA

View Full Version : 20 Degree down & water proof sleeping bag vs M50 45 degree down quilt+bamboo liner

thevagabond79
05-20-2012, 02:08
Hi, I am very new to long distance hiking. But I have a question that has been bothering me for a while:confused::

Should I bring a water proof, 20* down sleeping bag (mountain hard wear) that weights 2.5 lb for the AT or should I bring a 45* down quilt that is made of M50 fabric (11.5 oz, hammock gear), plus adding a grand trunk bamboo liner (1 lb). Or perhaps other combinations or sleeping bags? I plan to use a hammock, but could stay in the huts too....

I am thinking about selling my 20* sleeping bag if it's not the best option, so that I can save money for the alternatives.

Your advice would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Ken

leaftye
05-20-2012, 02:41
There's no way a 45°F quilt and liner is equivalent to a 20° bag. Don't believe the hype that liner sellers spout.

If you're going to get a quilt and use it on the ground, get a wider quilt. Hammock quilts are slightly narrower.

If you want it to be good for 20°F, then get a 20°F quilt.

For comfort in warmer weather, get a quilt with a footbox that can be fully opened and a baffle system that allows you to shift down around.

Quilts by EnLIGHTened Equipment meets all of those, and the RevelationX is the best priced down quilt that I was able to find when I last checked. That quilt also has karo baffles, which allows down from anywhere in the quilt to be moved anywhere else in the quilt.

jeffmeh
05-20-2012, 08:29
There's no way a 45°F quilt and liner is equivalent to a 20° bag. Don't believe the hype that liner sellers spout.

If you're going to get a quilt and use it on the ground, get a wider quilt. Hammock quilts are slightly narrower.

For comfort in warmer weather, get a quilt with a footbox that can be fully opened and a baffle system that allows you to shift down around.