PDA

View Full Version : Using a tarp instead of a tent

ericrhett
05-22-2012, 14:44
Hi! I hiking Davenport Gap, TN to Hot Springs in 3 days in early June. Assuming the forecast is no rain, can I use a tarp instead of an enclosed tent? I know the temp will be ok (I checked) but what about bugs in that area of the AT? Are there any factors that should cause me to use a tent over a 3 sided, floorless tarp? Im a beginner so please, respectful, informative answers only.
Thank you!
Eric

flemdawg1
05-22-2012, 14:51
Are you going to primarily use the tarp to sleep under or were you planning to use the shelters? Can you confidently set up a tarp to stay dry if you need it? Bugs normally arent' a big deal on that area of the AT.

Spokes
05-22-2012, 15:15
Grandma Gatewood used a shower curtain........ So yes.

quilteresq
05-22-2012, 15:23
I love my tarp more when it's damp and rainy. Much better ventilation, so things IN the tarp aren't as wet. I made a net tent to go with it, because the Whites aren't blessed in bug department.

coach lou
05-22-2012, 15:40
I use a Fly from a dome tent, 8'X3' piece of plastic, and a surplus [my supply battalion] mosquito net. I'm covered for whatever comes along

Tenderheart
05-23-2012, 12:07
I thru hiked with a tarp and can honestly say that I never got wet in a rain storm. Of course, the key is to not set up in a depression. As for bugs, all but mosquitoes go to sleep at night, and there is not that much standing water on the AT. IMO, a tarp is the only way to go. Mine was an 8 X 10 siltarp.

flemdawg1
05-23-2012, 12:17
Hi! I hiking Davenport Gap, TN to Hot Springs in 3 days in early June. Assuming the forecast is no rain, can I use a tarp instead of an enclosed tent? I know the temp will be ok (I checked) but what about bugs in that area of the AT? Are there any factors that should cause me to use a tent over a 3 sided, floorless tarp? Im a beginner so please, respectful, informative answers only.
Thank you!
Eric