PDA

View Full Version : Hypothetical question about hiking into canada after waterton.

Timinator
05-27-2012, 00:31
So lets just say I reach the end of the cdt northbound and I decide to keep going into canada's great divide trail. Would that be bad news without a passport or could I manage to sneak in and stay out of trouble through my canadian journeys? From what I understand you only need a passport to get back into the US but I would assume that's if you were traveling by car or airport anyway. I've never stepped foot outside my region so I have no idea how it would work.

tdoczi
05-27-2012, 01:01
i have no personal experience in this matter but i'm pretty sure goat haunt is manned by border patrol or INS or whoever, isnt it? i think you need a passport to even get to waterton lakes.

fiddlehead
05-27-2012, 06:18
Years ago we (US citizens) could travel in Canada with only a drivers license for identification.
No longer.
We now need a passport.

It seems to me that it'll be too late in the year for a NOBO CDT'er to continue north in the Canadian Rockies in late fall, early winter.

I too believe there is an immigration officer at Goat Haunt.
By the way, it is a much more beautiful ending to a trail than the Chief Mountain border station out on the main road.
Looking back at Glacier NP from the lake at Waterton Lakes Provincial park is one of the best views on the whole trail.

rickb
05-27-2012, 06:42
As an alternative to a passport, you might consider one of these:

http://travel.state.gov/passport/ppt_card/ppt_card_3926.html

rocketsocks
05-27-2012, 06:56
Ya know not having the proper ID...I wouldn't want to risk it,could be a very big dramatic mess to an otherwise awesome hike....hypotheticly speaking o'coarse.

fiddlehead
05-27-2012, 07:23
I used to take border crossings lightly.
Not any more I don't.
Remember the Dutch woman who had an overstay in NY City? They shackled her for 3 days I believe.
For an overstay!