PDA

View Full Version : I sure wish I thru hiked after I graduated college

ArkVol
04-11-2005, 21:09
I guess it would have been tough to start in May going north. Its one of my biggest regrets in life though, I went straight too work after school,got married and now have two kids and one on the way. sure would have liked to have done it then.

Lone Wolf
04-11-2005, 21:12
It's just a trail. Loved ones are much more important.

hikerjohnd
04-11-2005, 21:44
I guess it would have been tough to start in May going north. Its one of my biggest regrets in life though, I went straight too work after school,got married and now have two kids and one on the way. sure would have liked to have done it then.
The trail isn't going anywhere - it will be ready for you when you are ready for it.

ArkVol
04-11-2005, 21:56
The trail isn't going anywhere - it will be ready for you when you are ready for it.
thanks guys, you are both right:)

nerdishgrrl
04-12-2005, 01:15

I'm in college now. I'm only a freshman, but my plan is to hike the trail when I finish up. 2008...seems like a long time away, but with how fast my first year has flown by, i think it'll be here before I know it.

Anyway, my question is...would it be better to wait a while and go south instead?? It seems that if I was to start in May, there'd be now way to make it all the way before the park at the finish closes...opinions, anyone?

Just Jeff
04-12-2005, 07:08
Anyway, my question is...would it be better to wait a while and go south instead?? It seems that if I was to start in May, there'd be now way to make it all the way before the park at the finish closes...opinions, anyone?
You could always start NOBO in Harper's Ferry, then flop back to either HF for SOBO or to Springer to finish up NOBO. If you timed it right, you could do that section with all of the other thrus.