PDA

View Full Version : Introduction!

Heater
04-11-2005, 23:38
Hi!

My name is James. AKA Austex. I live in Austin Texas. I am new to hiking and have just recently become aware of the AT. (go figure!) I'm tellin ya' after researching a couple of weeks, I am ready to pay off my house and go on to thru-hike the AT. It sounds like a wonderful experience. I just found out about this so I don't think I could be prepared enough to start in April '06 but definately by '07.

So I guess that will be my goal. April 16th, 2007. I will be 47 (and a half) y.o. at that time.

I may just decide to just DO IT. That is my immediate thought but I realize that I need at least a year to prepare. So, maybe I can do it in '06 but no earlier than 04-16-06. (Next season) If nothing else, I am sure that I have found the right place to best prepare me for the journey at hand. There is a wealth of info here on this forum. Everything that a new hiker needs to know... I think.

See ya around on the forum. I am gonna have a lots of questions so please be patient with me.

Thanks!
Austex

ArkVol
04-12-2005, 00:18
I'm with yah, would love to do it right now,wife and family and job are the only thing holding me back:)
Welcome

Heater
04-12-2005, 00:31
I'm with yah, would love to do it right now,wife and family and job are the only thing holding me back:)
Welcome
No wife or kids here. If you were me you'd prbably be gone by now! :)

I am not really attached so much as I know that some planning for this is required.

It'll be next spring at least but I hope to be prepared by then. :-?

attroll
04-12-2005, 00:58