PDA

View Full Version : shuttles

jkhiker
04-12-2005, 10:45
i am wanting to backpack from max patch to davenport gap in the fall and i have never used a shuttle service before. how do they work and how much money do give them etc... just curious.

SGT Rock
04-12-2005, 11:00
The are all a little different. Sometimes they charge about $1 per mile driven, sometimes it is just someone that likes to do it for free because they are in the area. Best bet is to go to the ATC and see what the local list contains:

http://www.appalachiantrail.org/hike/pdfs/ATshuttle.pdf

T Rex
04-12-2005, 12:38
i am wanting to backpack from max patch to davenport gap in the fall and i have never used a shuttle service before. how do they work and how much money do give them etc... just curious.There is an outfitter in Hot Springs, I forgot the name, who I 've used before and is reasonable. You can call them in advance and reserve the time and they will give you a price.

Jack Tarlin
04-12-2005, 14:48
Rock is correct; some folks shuttle for free; some ask only for gas money. Some have set rates depending on mileage, distance. quality of roads, ammount of time the shuttle takes, etc. (Sometimes it can take somone a good deal of time to take you somewhere comparatively nearby because of the way the roads go, how they're maintained, etc., sometimes getting a hiker to a spot only a few miles away as the crow flies might take the driver an hour to get there).

The $1.00 a mile figure is quite dated; due to the much higher costs of car maintenance and especially the rising costs of insurance and gasoline, some folks will charge more than this. Any reputable shuttler will tell you EXACTLY what a trip will cost at the OUTSET of your trip; be sure of this before you accept the ride, so that there are no surprises when the ride is over.