PDA

View Full Version : Appalachian Trail US Postage Stamp

vamelungeon
06-04-2012, 20:25
I've been a stamp collector since my aunt, a postmaster, gave me an album and some stamps when I was a kid. Another Whiteblazer sent me a PM about stamp collecting. I can't believe the USPS has never issued a postage stamp honoring the AT! Especially considering some of the trivial things they have chosen as subjects for stamps in the last 20 years or so. I'm a ham radio operator and there was a ham radio stamp issued in the 60's. As far as I know, there has never been a hiking or camping stamp issued! There are a LOT more campers than hams. I don't know what the process is for getting a stamp issued, and of course with wars and starving children there are more serious subjects in the world, but I would personally like to see an AT stamp, a hiking stamp and a camping stamp. Any other stamp collectors have comments?

johnnybgood
06-04-2012, 20:43
While I'm not a stamp collector , a commemorative stamp marking the 75th anniversary of the AT would've been nice.

coach lou
06-04-2012, 21:16
I did go thru my books, but i've been so occupied with bells and poles that I forgot. US postage has 2 National park series, 1934 & 1972. John Muir, and Henry david Thoreau. Camp Fire Girls, Girl Scouts, Boy Scouts 3 times. Lewis & Clark. Just about the entire free world celebrated the scouting jubilee of 1967, and most of the Arab world. But alas, no Appalachian Trail. I went to the HQ in Harpers Ferry years ago and got a sheet of stamps that are the old diamond AT sign, I guess to be used like easter seals on the back of letters. naturally I have not used them and they are in my sheet book. I will scan them and post in my gallery.
The first section of the Trail was built in New York in 1922, so 2022 commemorative would be possible, it would take the USPS that long to work it out..........so long as there still is a USPS by then.

rocketsocks
06-04-2012, 21:32