PDA

View Full Version : Pack Size (or brand) Suggestions?

riverine17
06-04-2012, 21:13
Hello everyone,

Brand new to the site here, and loving all the useful information. Im pretty new to civilian multi-day hiking, in fact, my first trip with my wife is coming up in July. I have been on several multi-week "hikes" while in the USMC as an 0311 but never spent more than a few nights camping near my car in the civilian world.

Me and my wife will be hiking the Picture Rocks National Lakeshore in Michigan, I am asking the help of the experts on here for suggestions on pack brand or size. I own a Marmot Twilight 2 person tent (gift from a friend) and will be purchasing some lightweight sleeping bags soon. She has a Teton 45L bag (another gift) and I dont really want her carrying much weight, therefore I will be carrying most of it, including my tent and what not. We plan on multi-day hiking at least 2-4 times a year, and I want a pack thats comfortable and durable....

Any suggestions? What size would be ideal? What brands are better? Im looking to spend under $200...

Furthermore, any suggestions on "essentials" for our trip? I am used to the survival essentials, IE map, compass, first aid, lighter ect. ect.... but what about for our trip? Any tips?

Thanks in advance!

JoshL
06-04-2012, 22:40