PDA

View Full Version : Scot seeks advice

The Keltic Fringe
06-10-2012, 03:34
Hello everyone - I'm a forum newbie and in the early stages of planning a holiday. My wife and I walk in Scotland and have done several 'wild camping' overnights, although never a long distance trail. In Scotland we love the scenery, the solitude, the challenge and the excitement of seeing new things.

We're considering whether to do a long distance walk in USA, which would be our first, and I have a number of questions (some may seem daft, but I am a genuine seeker of knowledge, so please treat me gently).

1) We only have max 2 weeks' holiday. We could fly into any of the US East coast gateway cities (Boston, NYC, Washington, Atlanta etc) from Glasgow. Which bit of the AT would give us the best bang for the buck for maybe 8-10 days' walking?
2) Related to this, when is the best time of year? I've read that people walk North, in general, and start in the spring, but we aren't intending to do the whole trail and are pretty flexible with regard to dates.
3) We plan to camp, interspersed with cheap hotels/bunk-house accommodation. Is this practical? Are there designated campsites or is it wild camping?
4) Scotland's most aggressive wild creature is the rabbit - we are responsible and sensible, but how serious is the issue of wildlife encounters on the trail or when camping? We lack any American bushcraft in this respect.
5) We are fit and accustomed to walking, but we're not approaching this as a race or physical challenge, we want to go at a leisurely pace. Given the terrain what would you think is a reasonable daily distance for the sake of planning the itinerary?

Basically any advice, guidance or anecdotes will be helpful.

It may be (perish the thought!) that you feel the AT is not for us - in which case are there other trails you'd suggest, particularly on the East?