PDA

View Full Version : Overnight hike in NY/NJ

skiman0o
06-11-2012, 14:54
Looking for a moderate/strenuous overnight (2 days, 1 night) hike in NY/NJ/PA, probably 15-30 miles. I'm located in central NJ, Mercer County, and would like to find a hike with some decent elevation changes and overall challenge. I've hiked around Mt. Tamanny/Water Gap before, so I'd prefer to try something a bit different. I'm thinking somewhere in the Harriman & Bear Mtn parks in NY? A loop would be preferred.

Any thoughts would be much appreciated. I'm relatively new to NJ and am still trying to find strong, accessible hikes in the area.

Thanks!!!
Will

q-tip
06-11-2012, 15:23
If you are up to off-AT trails, I hiked the West Rim Trail in PA-30 mi--easy and beautiful. Just a Thought

skiman0o
06-11-2012, 16:38
Thanks for the suggestion, Q Tip. The PA Grand Canyon would be a great place and I've heard good things, but it's a bit too far for a weekend. Looking for >2hr car ride each way.

Thanks again.

skiman0o
06-11-2012, 16:39
..... <2hr

Cookerhiker
06-11-2012, 16:59
Since you're craving some up-and-down strenuous hiking, you want to hike somewhere between Rt. 17A outside Greenwood Lake and Bear Mountain which apparently you've already thought of. Most of the loop possibilities are within Harriman (north of Rt. 17) but I believe camping is restricted to the shelter areas.

You may want to consider obtaining a shuttle and hiking 2 days from 17A to Bear Mountain. The shuttle and parking at Bear Mountain will co$t you but you'll be getting the hike you want.

nehiker
06-11-2012, 17:50
Since you're craving some up-and-down strenuous hiking, you want to hike somewhere between Rt. 17A outside Greenwood Lake and Bear Mountain which apparently you've already thought of. Most of the loop possibilities are within Harriman (north of Rt. 17) but I believe camping is restricted to the shelter areas.