PDA

View Full Version : fleece bag

mofro
04-17-2005, 22:36
I was wondering how easy it would be to sow and fleece sleeping bag... i have a MH phantom 32 degree and i am thinking that this might be a little toasty for the summer months. It seems that it would not be that hard to make, but finding a zipper long enough for it to turn into a blanket style while keeping it in UL might be. Or i was thinking of just making it a half or 3/4 zip... so i was just curious on yalls thoughts, and also where to get the fleece.
thanks

SGT Rock
04-17-2005, 22:39
Just my experience with fleece and watching a few others try it, they are not very warm. I've seen a few miserable people on the trail with them, even in warmer weather when mountain temps can still dip into the teens. I would recommend some sort of lofting insulation like a poncho liner.

generoll
04-17-2005, 23:09
i bought fleece blankets with zippers from Campmor for my trip to the west last summer. we went rafting on the upper colorado river and froze our first night when the temps dipped into the 30s. i bought them for the Grand Canyon which has always been hotter then H in July, but in June at night they were inadequate. did manage to get my wife to zip hers up with mine though so it had its' compensations. ;)

Alligator
04-17-2005, 23:26