PDA

View Full Version : Esbit?

1azarus
06-26-2012, 12:11
I have been a long-time alcohol user (for stoves!) and am just switching over to esbit as a back up fuel for my new QiWiz FireFly woodburner. I have never used esbit before, and hoped the esbit users would weigh in on their experiences. Got any esbit advice or stories, both good and bad? thanks.

10-K
06-26-2012, 12:23
It's all I've used for a few years. Love it. Light, doesn't require a container, and when you use it, it's gone.

I use the graham cracker stove, ti cup, and caldera cone.

booney_1
06-26-2012, 12:35
It's great for boiling a couple cups of water. Only negatives is that it leaves a black sticky residue on the bottom of the pot. I bring a small (think eye dropper size) bottle of alcohol to help light them. Sometimes it's hard to get them started. When you are done cooking, you can blow them out and reuse the part that's left. Another negative is their smell....fishy...keep them in a zip lock, maybe double ziplock, or your pack will smell.

I got started using them when taking boy scouts on week long hikes. We thought they were much safer than alcohol...no problem spilling or measuring for kids. Also it's very easy to make a simple stove for them out of wire mesh or pet food can. We made wind shields out of aluminum baking trays. The caldera cone mentioned above looks pretty nice. You could easily make one yourself out of aluminum flashing..

Berserker
06-26-2012, 12:43
I use the graham cracker stove, ti cup, and caldera cone.

Only negatives is that it leaves a black sticky residue on the bottom of the pot.