PDA

View Full Version : UrSacks

Peyton
07-08-2012, 09:17
Hi, does anyone have a opinion on UrSacks? They seem great, but pretty pricey.

Thanks for any input

Cookerhiker
07-08-2012, 09:20
I was researching this a few months ago and learned they were not acceptable to the Park Service where bear canisters were required like the John Muir Trail which I'm hiking this year. I'll look for the thread.

Cookerhiker
07-08-2012, 09:26
Here you go: http://www.whiteblaze.net/forum/showthread.php?75230-Can-you-use-an-Ursack

You may find more threads if you search in the JMT, PCT, or Gear forums.

I remember now how some commenters said bears will often batter ursacks successfully (from the bear's standpoint).

T-Rx
07-08-2012, 09:29
I have limited experience with my ursack. I have had it about a year and used it on about 6 trips including recent section hikes on the BMT and the AT. I hung my food on cables when available but slept with my food 2 or 3 nights. I use the OP sacks inside the ursack as well. I have had no problems with bears or other critters.

BigHodag
07-08-2012, 10:30
I've used mine on two A.T. section hikes. Love just walking over to a tree and tieing on my UrSack with a square knot versus taking time to rig a PCT bag hang.

Never had a critter problem other than a few large ants exploring.

Its a bit heavier than the usual food bag, but I also use mine as a carry-on for the bus rides to and from the trail. Love multi-taskers.

I also like that an UrSack collapses as emptied unlike a solid fixed size canister.

If NPS has specific complaints about the UrSack versus a prejudice towards older canister technology, I'd rather they voice them. UrSacks seem every bit a deterrent for bears as are canisters. I understand some bears have learned to open canisters, no such stories for UrSacks.

Miner
07-08-2012, 11:04
It would be easier to comment if you told us where you were thinking of using it. AT? JMT?

Cookerhiker
07-08-2012, 11:08