PDA

View Full Version : New here! Got a question.

Jane Doe
04-21-2005, 18:40
Hi, I'm new here. I'm starting to sersiously contemplate a thru-hike. I've always wanted to do it though. Here's the thing. I am now 27 and been out of school for a few years and working in my chosen professional field. I am wondering at what age did people do their first thru-hike. Did you have to stop your career. Or did you do it before/after? Or had you just been working jobs to make the money? Did that all make sense? Any help in this area would be most helpful to me.

BookBurner
04-21-2005, 19:03
I was a trial lawyer with a traditional solo practice before my thru-hike in 2002. Since returning from Katahdin, however, I've practiced only on a consulting basis with other lawyers. That set-up has provided me the schedule flexibility to hike other long-distance trails yet still put food on the table. There have been significant but temporary career sacrifices made in the process but the personal benefits gained have far outweighed them. No regrets whatsoever!

If a thru-hike is your passion, give a try. It may change your life! Can you say the same things about an additional 6 months tacked onto your career?

-- BookBurner
www.enlightenedthruhiker.com

Jane Doe
04-21-2005, 19:14
thanks for your reply. Out of curiousity, how long had you been in your career before you hike. And if you don't mind, how old were you when you hiked the trail. If I do it soon it won't be till probably 2007 so that I can get into shape and prepare my life for it.

stickman
04-21-2005, 19:45